Contents
- Quick answer
- What this page does differently
- How a hub motor works
- Right place: what your state lets you ride
- Right place: terrain and weather
- Right person: height, weight and age
- Right range
- The best hub motor electric bikes, matched
- How to tell which hub motor a bike has
- What a hub motor costs to own
- The honest ledger
- Limitations
- Where every figure comes from
- Frequently asked questions
Quick answer
The best hub motor electric bikes are the ones whose published numbers match your route, your body and your state. This page names 21 of them.
A hub motor sits inside the wheel and drives it directly. It is the right choice when your route is mostly flat or rolling, when you want a throttle, and when you would rather have a simple drivetrain than the last word in hill climbing. It is the wrong choice for long sustained climbs under load, where the motor works at low wheel speed and sheds heat instead of making progress.
We screened all 191 rideable listings we sell against the manufacturers' own published specifications. 92 of them are confirmed hub-drive at the maker. Of the 42 we can recommend, the pages below match 21 of them to a use, a rider and a place, using only figures the manufacturer publishes.
92 verified hub drives · 191 bikes screened · 21 picks · 42 models read at the maker · 16 of 42 publish 20 mph or under · 440 lbs is the highest published load.
92 verified hub drives. 92 of 191 bikes we sell. 21 matched to you. We read the motor spec for every one of them at the manufacturer rather than on our own listing.
What this page does differently
Most hub-motor guides answer the question in adjectives. They tell you hub motors suit "flat terrain" and struggle on "steep hills", and they stop there. Neither word is a number you can check your own commute against.
So this page runs on seven things a buyer actually knows about themselves: what the bike is for, who is riding it, where they ride, how old they are, how tall they are, what they weigh, and how far they need to go.
Every one of those is answered from a figure the manufacturer published, or it is marked as not published and left alone. The class question behind several of them is settled by 15 U.S.C. § 2085(b) and by your own state.
What you can look up before you buy
Across the 42 hub bikes we can recommend, these are the figures on the makers' own product pages, read on 6 September 2026, and the range they cover:
| What a buyer needs to know | What the published figures span |
|---|---|
| Range per charge | roughly 28 miles to over 200, depending on pack size and mode |
| Maximum load | 286 lb to 440 lb |
| Top speed | 20 mph to 50 mph |
| Rider height window | about 4'8" at the short end to 6'4" at the tall end |
| Bike weight | 66 lb to 164 lb |
| Motor power | 500 W to 3,000 W peak |
| Torque | 55 Nm to 126 Nm |
Every card below prints that bike's own figures, so you can filter on the one that decides it for you rather than on a headline wattage.
One axis works differently. Rider age is set by your state rather than by a bicycle manufacturer, because the rule that governs a fourteen-year-old on a throttle bike is written in a vehicle code. The age section below answers it from state law for that reason.
How a hub motor works, and the two choices inside it
A hub motor is built into the wheel hub. The stator is fixed to the axle, the magnets sit in the shell that the spokes lace into, and the wheel is the rotor. There is no chain between the motor and the road, which is why a hub bike still drives when the chain is off and why a throttle feels immediate on one.
Two decisions inside that description change the bike more than the wattage on the sticker.
Geared or direct drive
A geared hub carries a planetary reduction inside the shell, so the motor spins faster than the wheel and multiplies torque at low speed. It is lighter, it freewheels when you stop pedalling, and it pulls away from a standstill without complaint. The nylon planet gears are the wear part, and heat is what kills them.
A direct drive hub has no gears at all. The shell is the rotor, so there is nothing inside to wear out, and it holds a high cruising speed smoothly. It is heavier, it drags slightly when unpowered, and it is less willing from a dead stop on a hill.
The practical version: geared for stop-start riding and short climbs, direct drive for sustained speed on open road. If you cannot tell which one a bike has, that is normal. Only 9 of the 42 bikes here state it either way, which is why the cards below say so rather than guessing.
Front wheel or rear wheel
Rear is the default, and for most riders it is the right default. Your weight sits over the back wheel, so a rear motor finds grip when a front motor is still spinning.
Front hub motors have one real advantage and one real hazard, and most advice gives you the advantage without the hazard. The advantage is that a front motor and your own pedalling drive different wheels, which is two-wheel drive on a loose surface.
The hazard is torque steer. Pull hard on a front hub over wet leaves, gravel or packed snow and the wheel can push the bars sideways before it pushes you forward.
This is where the AI answers contradict themselves. Ask any of them about snow and you get both "rear hub motors offer better traction" and "front hub motors can't be beaten in snow, mud and rain" inside a single reply. The mechanism resolves it: rear for traction under power, front only where you can keep the power gentle.
Right place, part one: what your state lets you ride
Terrain is the fun half of the question. The half that decides whether you can legally use the bike on your route is the class it falls into, and that is settled by two published numbers: motor power and top speed.
Federal law sets the floor. 15 U.S.C. § 2085(b) defines a low-speed electric bicycle as a two- or three-wheeled vehicle with fully operable pedals, a motor of less than 750 watts, and a top speed on a paved level surface, powered solely by the motor with a 170-pound rider, of less than 20 miles per hour. Most states then layer a three-class scheme on top, with Class 3 assistance ending at 28 mph.
So the shopping question is which row you need, and each manufacturer publishes the top speed that answers it:
| What you need | Where to look |
|---|---|
| A bike that is unambiguously a bicycle anywhere in the United States | 16 of the 42 publish a top speed of 20 mph or under. Buy from these and check the motor rating too |
| Class 3 speed where your state recognises it | 8 of the 42 publish above 20 and up to 28 mph, usually with age and path conditions attached |
| A machine for private land, where the class question does not arise | The rest publish higher figures, and every card below states its own |
If the first row is what you need, our all eBikes collection is where those live, and the commuter and city and fat tire collections split them by shape.
Read the table as a shopping instruction rather than a verdict, measured against the statutory definition. If you need a machine that is unambiguously a bicycle everywhere in the United States, buy from the first row and check the motor rating as well. If your riding is on private land, the third row stops mattering and other things start to.
Every pick below states its published top speed, and the ones above 20 mph point you to a 20 mph alternative in the same area at a comparable price. Your own state is the authority, and we keep a page for each one: California, Texas, Florida, New York, Washington, Colorado and Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Arizona, Illinois, Michigan and seventeen more.
Right place, part two: terrain, weather and the heat problem
A hub motor has one gear ratio. Your legs can shift down a steep hill; the motor cannot. It meets the climb at whatever wheel speed you are managing, draws more current to hold torque, and turns the surplus into heat inside a sealed shell with nowhere to put it.
The whole hub-versus-mid-drive argument sits in that paragraph, and it only bites under three conditions at once: a long climb, a heavy load and a low speed. Two makers here publish a gradient figure for exactly that reason: Samebike states 20 degrees for the RS-A02 Pro.
Any one alone is fine. A short sharp ramp is fine, and so is a loaded bike on a shallow grade. Twenty minutes at walking pace up a sustained grade in August, with cargo, is where geared hubs cook their planet gears.
Flat and rolling cities. Phoenix, Houston, Miami, the Chicago grid, most of Florida and the Gulf Coast. A hub motor is not a compromise here, it is the better buy: fewer wear parts, a throttle for pulling away in traffic, and no drivetrain losses between the motor and the road.
Genuinely steep cities. San Francisco, Seattle, Pittsburgh. The steepest residential blocks in those cities run past 25% grade, and nothing in this guide is the right tool for riding one twice a day. What works on the rest of the route is buying torque rather than watts, and choosing a line that trades distance for gradient. Two bikes here publish a gradient figure rather than leaving you to infer it from wattage: the Samebike RS-A02 Pro at 20 degrees and the Ridstar-class machines at 35, and a published gradient is worth more than a published wattage on this question.
Snow, sand and loose surfaces. This is where tire width and motor placement matter more than power. A rear hub on a 4-inch tire finds grip; a front hub on the same surface can steer itself. Winter also shortens range: lithium cells give up capacity in the cold, so a published range figure earned in mild weather is optimistic in a Minneapolis February, and the per-station thirty-year normals are the planning input. Thirty-year snowfall normals for your own station are published by NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information, and they are a better planning input than a seasonal impression.
Right person: height, weight and age
Height
A rider-height window is published for 32 of the 42 bikes here. Where it exists, use it as a hard filter before anything else, because a bike you cannot put a foot down on is not made safe by a good motor.
The windows on these bikes cluster between roughly 5'2" and 6'4", and the outliers are worth knowing about. The widest window on this page belongs to the Eunorau FLASH LITE ST at 4'8" to 6'4", which is unusually accommodating at the short end. If you are over 6'4", no bike on this page publishes a window that reaches you, and our guide for tall riders is the better page.
Weight
A maximum load figure is published for 41 of the 42 bikes, which makes this the best-answered question on the page. Two things about reading it.
Maximum load is rider plus cargo plus anything on the rack. And it is a structural limit, not a performance one: a bike rated to 330 lb carrying 320 lb up a hill will be slow and will run hot long before anything bends. If you are near the number, the honest move is to buy above it rather than at it.
The published figures here run from 286 lb up to 440 lb. Eunorau publishes 440 lb on its cargo and moto platforms, which is the highest on this page, and Samebike publishes 150 kg (331 lb) across most of its line. Our guide for heavier riders goes further into frame and wheel choices at the top of that range.
Age
Only 2 of the 42 manufacturers publish a minimum rider age, and both are on children's models. So the age question is answered by your state, and it is answered differently from state to state.
The pattern across the state schemes: Class 1 and Class 2 bikes usually carry no minimum age or a low one, while Class 3 machines commonly require a rider to be 16 or older, sometimes with a helmet requirement attached at any age.
A throttle bike that assists past 20 mph is where a teenager most often turns out to be riding something their state does not allow. Check the class first, then your state's page, then buy.
Right range: what the number means and what it does not
A range figure is published for 41 of the 42 bikes, and it is the least trustworthy well-published number in the category. Not because manufacturers invent it, but because the conditions behind it are rarely stated and never standardised.
Where a maker publishes two figures, believe the smaller one (Eahora and Riding'times both do). Several here separate throttle-only from pedal-assist range, and the gap is instructive: the Eahora P5 II publishes 34 to 40 miles on throttle against 68 to 80 miles with assistance, and the Riding'times GT73 publishes 85 miles on throttle against 155 with it. Riding on the throttle alone roughly halves what you get.
Three things shorten a published range and none of them appear in the number: cold, hills and rider weight. Plan on the throttle-only figure if you intend to use the throttle, take another quarter off in winter, and treat anything left as margin.
Battery capacity in watt-hours is the figure that actually scales with distance, and it is published or derivable for 26 of the 42 bikes here. As a rough working rule on a fat-tire bike at moderate assist, expect somewhere near 25 watt-hours per mile; a 720 Wh pack is a genuine 25 to 30 miles of that riding, whatever the headline says.
Takeaway
If your route is flat or rolling and you want a throttle, a hub motor is the better buy, not the compromise. Buy torque rather than watts, check the published top speed against your state, and check the rider-height window before anything else.
The best hub motor electric bikes: 21 matched to six kinds of riding
Every card below carries the manufacturer's own figures for that exact model, read from its product page and linked back to it. Prices and stock were checked on 6 September 2026, and every buy link goes straight to the cart.
Flat-grid city commuting
Phoenix, Houston, Miami, the Chicago grid
Budget · Samebike CY20 Pro Folding Commuter Electric Bike, Solid Wheel
| Price today | $599 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 500W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | 45-90KM |
| Published max load | 150 KG |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | 20" x 3.0 |
| Brakes | Mechanical disc brakes |
| Bike weight | not stated |
Add the Samebike CY20 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Samebike on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Samebike — Samebike CY20 Pro Folding Commuter Electric Bike, Solid Wheel.
Who it is for. Someone with a short flat commute, a lift or a staircase at one end, and no interest in owning a second bike for weekends.
What decides it. Samebike publishes a 32 km/h top speed, which is 20 mph, so this is the cheapest bike on the page that sits inside the federal ceiling without you touching a setting. The published 45 to 90 km range is 28 to 56 miles, and it folds. (Samebike specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone carrying it upstairs daily. Reviewers who liked everything else about it consistently flag the weight, and a folder you dread lifting stops getting folded. If the stairs are the point, the fold matters more than the motor, and this is still your pick; if they are not, the META26 below is a better bike for the same commute.
Mid · Eahora Terra Step-Through Commuter Electric Bike
| Price today | $899 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1,000W, or peak 1,500W |
| Torque | 90 Nm (max) |
| Published top speed | 33 mph |
| Published range | 25 - 45 MILES |
| Published max load | ≤ 330 lbs to ensure the performance and safety |
| Published rider height | 5'4" - 6'1" or 165CM - 186CM |
| Tire | CST BFT 20" x 4.0" tires with tube (28-33 psi) |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes with motor cutoff |
| Bike weight | 91 lbs with the battery installed |
Add the Eahora Terra to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eahora on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eahora — Eahora Terra Step-Through Commuter Electric Bike.
Who it is for. A rider on a flat route who wants full suspension and more speed in reserve than a 20 mph bike gives them, and who can swing a leg over a high frame.
What decides it. A published 90 Nm from a 1,000 W geared rear hub at $899 is the most torque per dollar in this area, and it arrives with full suspension and 180 mm hydraulic brakes at $899. Eahora publishes a 5'4" to 6'1" rider window, so check the fit first. (Eahora specification)
Who should not buy it. Two riders. Anyone who needs a low step-over height: Eahora calls this a step-over frame on its own page, and our listing title saying step-through is an error we are correcting. And anyone who needs the bike to be unambiguously a bicycle, because Eahora publishes 28 to 33 mph, above the Class 3 ceiling in the state schemes. For either reason, the Eunorau META26 below is the step-through that publishes 20 mph.
Luxury · Eunorau META26 City eBike
| Price today | $1,699 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear Drive 500W |
| Torque | 55 N.m |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | Up to 100 Miles |
| Published max load | 286 lbs |
| Published rider height | 5'4" ~ 6'3" |
| Tire | 26" × 3.0" |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes levers with motor cutoff switch |
| Bike weight | 68.4 lbs |
Add the Eunorau META26 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eunorau on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eunorau — Eunorau META26 City eBike.
Who it is for. The daily commuter who wants the bike to disappear underneath them and never raise a legal question.
What decides it. Eunorau publishes 20 mph, a 286 lb maximum load, a 5'4" to 6'3" rider window and a 68.4 lb bike weight. That combination of four published numbers is the most complete disclosure of any commuter on this page, and 68 lb is genuinely light for a hub bike with 3-inch tires. (Eunorau specification)
Who should not buy it. Riders under 5'4", who fall outside the published window, and anyone whose route includes a sustained climb, where the 55 Nm will feel modest. For the climb, the FLASH LITE 2.0 in the hilly-metro area publishes 92 Nm.
Hilly metro
Seattle, Pittsburgh, San Francisco
Budget · Samebike RS-A02 Pro Folding Fat Tire Electric Bike
| Price today | $999 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1000W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 25 mph |
| Published range | 55-110KM |
| Published max load | 150 KG |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | hydraulic disc |
| Bike weight | not stated |
Add the Samebike RS-A02 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Samebike on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Samebike — Samebike RS-A02 Pro Folding Fat Tire Electric Bike.
Who it is for. A rider on a hilly route who needs the bike to fold into a car boot at the end of it.
What decides it. Samebike publishes an 80+ Nm motor and states the bike handles grades up to 20 degrees, which is one of only two gradient figures published anywhere in this pool. A gradient claim is far more useful on a hill question than a wattage. (Samebike specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who needs a quiet, refined ride. Owner reports repeatedly mention brake noise and rear-shock complaints alongside the praise for range. If refinement matters more than the fold, the Eahora P5 II below publishes more torque and hydraulic brakes for $600 more.
Mid · Eahora P5 II 24-Inch Fat-Tire Electric Bike
| Price today | $1,599 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1500W DC hub motor, cassette; rated torque: 102N.M |
| Torque | 102N.m |
| Published top speed | not published |
| Published range | 68 - 80 MILES |
| Published max load | Recomend rider weight within 330lbs |
| Published rider height | 5'2" - 6'4" or 159CM - 195CM |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | not stated |
| Bike weight | 84.8 lbs in total with the battery. The battery weighs 27.6 lbs |
Add the Eahora P5 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eahora on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eahora — Eahora P5 II 24-Inch Fat-Tire Electric Bike.
Who it is for. The rider whose commute has a real climb in it and who wants the most climbing ability on this page under $1,600.
What decides it. 102 Nm published, from a 1,500 W geared hub, with a 48V 20Ah (960 Wh) battery and a 5'2" to 6'4" rider window, the widest in this area and the second-highest torque figure on the page. (Eahora specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone whose route is bike paths and shared-use trails, where the deciding number is a published 20 mph. The FLASH LITE 2.0 below publishes exactly that, with 92 Nm, and it is the pick for a path commute.
Luxury · Eunorau FLASH LITE 2.0 Moto eBike
| Price today | $1,899 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear-drive 750W |
| Torque | 92N.m |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | Up to 65 / 135 / 220 mi (1/2/3 batt) |
| Published max load | 440 lbs |
| Published rider height | 5'2" ~ 6'4" |
| Tire | 20*4" |
| Brakes | Hydraulic Disc Brakes |
| Bike weight | 82-92 lbs |
Add the Eunorau FLASH to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eunorau on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eunorau — Eunorau FLASH LITE 2.0 Moto eBike.
Who it is for. A hill commuter who wants Class 2 legality and moto-style comfort in the same bike.
What decides it. 92 Nm and a 20 mph published top speed together, which is a rare combination: most of the torque on this page comes attached to a speed figure that puts the bike outside the class schemes. A published 440 lb maximum load and a 5'2" to 6'4" window make it the most broadly fitting bike in this area. (Eunorau specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who wants a light bike. At 82 to 92 lb this is not going up a staircase. If it has to, the RS-A02 Pro above folds.
Snow belt and loose surface
Minneapolis, Buffalo, Denver
Budget · Samebike CREST Fat Tire Mountain Electric Bike
| Price today | $1,699 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | not stated |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 31 mph |
| Published range | 70-160KM |
| Published max load | 150 KG |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | 26" x 4.0 |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc |
| Bike weight | not stated |
Add the Samebike CREST to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Samebike on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Samebike — Samebike CREST Fat Tire Mountain Electric Bike.
Who it is for. Winter and wet-season commuting, for a rider who wants to step through the frame in bulky clothing rather than swing a leg over it.
What decides it. It is the step-through of the two Samebike fat-tire bikes here, and it arrives with a rear rack, full fenders and hydraulic disc brakes on 26 x 4.0 tires. Fenders and a rack are what make a fat bike usable in a salted February, and Samebike publishes a 150 kg (330 lb) maximum load and a 70 to 160 km range, which is 43 to 99 miles. (Samebike specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone riding deep unpacked snow, where one driven wheel is the limit. The FAT-AWD 2.0 below drives both. And note Samebike publishes 50 km/h, which is 31 mph, so check your state before riding it on a path.
Mid · Eunorau FAT-AWD 2.0 All-Wheel-Drive Fat eBike
| Price today | $1,699 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | AWD 500W+500W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | Up to 80 Miles |
| Published max load | 375 lbs |
| Published rider height | 5'3" ~ 6'1" |
| Tire | 26" × 4.0 |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes levers with motor cutoff switch |
| Bike weight | Step-over 81.5 lbs, step-thru 79.4 lbs |
Add the Eunorau FAT-AWD to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eunorau on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eunorau — Eunorau FAT-AWD 2.0 All-Wheel-Drive Fat eBike.
Who it is for. The rider who meets genuinely loose ground often enough that traction beats every other consideration.
What decides it. Two 500 W motors driving both wheels, and a rider-selectable choice of front, rear or both. An independent test found the dual motors and 4-inch tires gave it "plenty of traction on deep, loose sand", and it publishes 20 mph, a 375 lb maximum load and 26 x 4.0 tires. (Eunorau specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone expecting a comfortable or well-equipped bike. The same test called the ride bumpy and noted weak lights, no fenders and no rack, so budget for those. If comfort on a long winter road matters more than deep-snow traction, the Romeo Pro below has 120 Nm and a 2,880 Wh battery.
Luxury · Eahora Romeo Pro Moped-Style Electric Bike
| Price today | $1,899 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1,200 Watt, or peak 1,600W |
| Torque | 120 Nm (max) |
| Published top speed | 28 mph |
| Published range | 104 - 112 Miles |
| Published max load | ≤ 330 lbs to ensure the performance and safety |
| Published rider height | 5'6" - 6'4" or 170CM - 195CM |
| Tire | CST 26" x 4.0" fat tires with tube (28-33 psi) |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes with motor cutoff |
| Bike weight | 124.6 lbs with the battery (28 lbs) installed |
Add the Eahora Romeo to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eahora on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eahora — Eahora Romeo Pro Moped-Style Electric Bike.
Who it is for. A cold-climate rider covering real distances who wants to stop worrying about the battery in February.
What decides it. A 2,880 Wh battery, which is the largest in this area by a wide margin, and 120 Nm published. Cold takes a share of any pack; it takes a smaller share of your journey when the pack is this big. (Eahora specification)
Who should not buy it. Riders under 5'6", who are outside the published window, and anyone who wants a bike they can lift, at 124.6 lb. It also publishes 28+ mph, so check your state before riding it on a path; the FAT-AWD 2.0 above publishes 20 mph.
Heavy payload, cargo and errands
anywhere with a hill and a load
Budget · Z8 Pro Electric Bike
| Price today | $899 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear Gear Hub Motor 750W(Peak 1500W, Torque 80Nm) |
| Torque | 80Nm |
| Published top speed | 31 mph |
| Published range | 80Miles |
| Published max load | 330LBS |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | 20×4 |
| Brakes | Front and rear mechanical disc brake + electronic brake |
| Bike weight | 79(89) lbs |
Every figure in that table is published by Riding'times on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Riding'times — Z8 Pro Electric Bike.
Who it is for. Errand riding with a load, on a budget, where the route is roads rather than bike paths.
What decides it. A published 330 lb maximum load and 80 Nm from a 750 W geared rear hub at $899, with a dual-battery option owners single out as the thing that makes the range real. (Riding'times specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone riding bike paths. Riding'times publishes 31 mph, which is above every state's Class 3 ceiling. For the same errands inside 20 mph, the MAX-CARGO 2.0 below publishes 440 lb and Class 2 operation.
Mid · Eunorau MAX-CARGO 2.0 Cargo eBike
| Price today | $1,699 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear Drive 48V750W |
| Torque | 70 N.m |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | Up to 80 Miles |
| Published max load | 440 lbs |
| Published rider height | 5'2" ~ 6'1" |
| Tire | 24" x 2.4" |
| Brakes | Hydraulic Disc Brake Levers with Motor Cutoff Switch |
| Bike weight | 85 lbs |
Add the Eunorau MAX-CARGO to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eunorau on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eunorau — Eunorau MAX-CARGO 2.0 Cargo eBike.
Who it is for. School runs, grocery runs and anyone replacing a second car trip rather than a bike ride.
What decides it. A published 440 lb maximum load, the highest on this page, with 70 Nm from a 750 W rear hub and a published 20 mph. Independent coverage confirms the rating and describes carrying two children or an adult passenger on the rear rack. (Eunorau specification)
Who should not buy it. Riders over 6'1", who are outside the published window, and anyone whose load is mostly hills rather than mostly weight. For sustained climbing with cargo, a mid-drive is the honest answer and our eBike motor guide covers the trade-off in full.
Luxury · Eahora DL2000 Dual-Motor Moped-Style Electric Bike
| Price today | $2,299 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 2 x 800 Watt (peak 2000W) |
| Torque | 2 x 65 Nm (max) |
| Published top speed | 28 mph |
| Published range | 40 - 50 Miles |
| Published max load | ≤ 330 lbs to ensure the performance and safety |
| Published rider height | 5'7" - 6'3" or 170cm - 190cm |
| Tire | 20" x 4.5" fat tires with tube (28-33 psi) |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes with motor cutoff |
| Bike weight | 164.2 lbs with the battery (28.9 lbs) installed |
Add the Eahora DL2000 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eahora on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eahora — Eahora DL2000 Dual-Motor Moped-Style Electric Bike.
Who it is for. A rider hauling weight over rough or broken surfaces who wants two motors doing it.
What decides it. Two 800 W motors with 65 Nm each, a 1,560 Wh battery and 20 x 4.5 tires, which are the widest on this page. Wide tires plus two driven wheels is what keeps a loaded bike tracking straight on a bad surface. (Eahora specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone under 5'7", and anyone who has to move the bike by hand: 164.2 lb is the heaviest machine here. It publishes 28 mph, so it is a Class 3 question in states that recognise one.
Long-range rural and exurban
county roads, exurban commutes
Budget · Samebike STORM Fat Tire Mountain Electric Bike
| Price today | $1,699 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1000W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 31 mph |
| Published range | 70-160KM |
| Published max load | 150 KG |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes |
| Bike weight | not stated |
Add the Samebike STORM to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Samebike on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Samebike — Samebike STORM Fat Tire Mountain Electric Bike.
Who it is for. Long rides on mixed surfaces where you want a rack and fenders on the bike and a high frame under you.
What decides it. A 48V 20Ah pack, 960 Wh, and a published 70 to 160 km range, which is 43 to 99 miles. It is the high-step twin of the CREST above: same price, same platform, and the frame is the real difference between them rather than anything on the spec sheet. (Samebike specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who would rather step through the frame than over it, who should take the CREST, and anyone riding bike paths, because Samebike publishes 50 km/h, which is 31 mph.
Mid · Eunorau FLASH LITE ST Step-Thru eMoped
| Price today | $1,899 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 52V750W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | Up to 100 Miles (Dual Battery) |
| Published max load | 440 lbs |
| Published rider height | 4'8"–6'4" |
| Tire | 20" x 4.0" |
| Brakes | Front and Rear Four-Piston Hydraulic Disc Brakes |
| Bike weight | 82 lbs |
Add the Eunorau FLASH to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eunorau on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eunorau — Eunorau FLASH LITE ST Step-Thru eMoped.
Who it is for. The long-distance rider who wants the range without the legal argument, and a step-through frame to get on and off with.
What decides it. A published 100 miles on the dual battery at 20 mph, a 440 lb maximum load, and a rider window of 4'8" to 6'4" that is the widest on this entire page. Almost nobody is outside it. (Eunorau specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who wants one battery and a light bike; the range figure depends on carrying two packs. If a single-battery bike is enough, the META26 in the flat-grid area publishes up to 100 miles and weighs 68 lb.
Luxury · Eahora Romeo Ultra Moped-Style Electric Bike
| Price today | $2,599 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 3000W |
| Torque | 120 Nm (max) |
| Published top speed | 42 mph |
| Published range | 104 - 200 Miles |
| Published max load | ≤ 330 lbs to ensure the performance and safety |
| Published rider height | 5'6" - 6'4" or 170cm - 195cm |
| Tire | 26" x 4.0" tires with tube (28-33 psi) |
| Brakes | Hydraulic disc brakes with motor cutoff |
| Bike weight | 160.5 lbs with the battery (36.6 lbs) installed |
Add the Eahora Romeo to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eahora on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eahora — Eahora Romeo Ultra Moped-Style Electric Bike.
Who it is for. The rider covering the longest distances on this page, on private land or on roads where the class question is already settled for them.
What decides it. A 4,200 Wh battery, 60V 70Ah, and a published 104 to 200 mile range. Both figures are the largest here by a distance. (Eahora specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone riding bike paths or shared-use trails. Eahora publishes 28+ mph with a 42 mph figure alongside it, which is outside the class schemes. The FLASH LITE ST above is the 20 mph way to cover long distances.
Off-road and private land
private land, OHV areas
Riding'times calls the two GT73 machines here electric motorbikes, and that is what they are: 19-inch off-road motorcycle tires, published top speeds of 37 and 50 mph, and a full pedal drivetrain with a chainring and a bottom bracket. Those figures sit above the federal low-speed electric bicycle definition, which is why this area exists and why Riding'times tells buyers on its own page to check state regulations before riding on public roads. Private land is where they belong, and on private land they are the most capable machines on this page.
Budget · Samebike LO26 Plus Folding Fat Tire Electric Bike
| Price today | $999 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1000W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 25 mph |
| Published range | 55-110KM |
| Published max load | 150 KG |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | Hydraulic Disc |
| Bike weight | not stated |
Add the Samebike LO26 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Samebike on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Samebike — Samebike LO26 Plus Folding Fat Tire Electric Bike.
Who it is for. Getting to the trail in the back of a car, on the cheapest bike in this area.
What decides it. It folds, which is the whole argument at $999: a fat-tire bike you can put in a boot is a bike you actually take somewhere. Samebike publishes a 48V 15Ah pack, a 55 to 110 km range, which is 34 to 68 miles, and hydraulic disc brakes. (Samebike specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone riding hard off-road. A folding hinge is a stress point that a rigid frame does not have, and the Defender below is the bike for real trail use.
Budget Alt · GT73 Electric Motorbike
| Price today | $1,499 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear Gear Hub Motor 2400W |
| Torque | 126Nm |
| Published top speed | 37 mph |
| Published range | 85Miles |
| Published max load | 330LBS |
| Published rider height | Recommended Height 5'5" to 6'3" |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | not stated |
| Bike weight | 330 LBS |
Add the GT73 Electric to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Riding'times on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Riding'times — GT73 Electric Motorbike.
Who it is for. Trail and private-land riding where the bike is closer to a light dirt bike than to a bicycle.
What decides it. 126 Nm published, 19-inch off-road motorcycle tires, and two removable 48V 18.2Ah packs for a combined 1,747 Wh. It does have fully operable pedals, a chainring and a bottom bracket, and Riding'times publishes a pedal-assist range of 155 miles against 85 on the throttle. (Riding'times specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone intending to ride it on public roads or paths without checking first. Riding'times publishes a 37 mph top speed and says so itself on the product page: "the product classification depends on local regulations ... We recommend checking your state's electric bicycle regulations before riding on public roads." For trail riding that stays inside 20 mph, the Defender below is the pick.
Mid · Eunorau Defender Full-Suspension Fat eBike
| Price today | $1,599 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear Drive 500W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 20 mph |
| Published range | Up to 80 Miles |
| Published max load | 300 lbs / 136kg |
| Published rider height | 5'3" ~ 6'4" |
| Tire | 27.5" x 3.0" |
| Brakes | Hydraulic Brakes Lever with motor cutoff switch |
| Bike weight | 66 lbs |
Add the Eunorau Defender to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eunorau on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eunorau — Eunorau Defender Full-Suspension Fat eBike.
Who it is for. Trail riding on public land, where the bike has to remain a bicycle in the eyes of whoever manages the trail.
What decides it. Full suspension, 27.5 x 3.0 tires and a published 20 mph under the speed limiter, at 66 lb. It is the lightest bike on this page by 2 lb, which matters when you are lifting it over a log rather than riding through one. (Eunorau specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who wants outright power on private land. 500 W against the GT73's 2,400 W is not a close contest, and if the land is yours the GT73 is the more capable machine.
Mid Alt · Samebike M20 Retro Off-Road Electric Bike
| Price today | $999 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1800W |
| Torque | not stated |
| Published top speed | 31 mph |
| Published range | 70-140KM |
| Published max load | 180 KG |
| Published rider height | not stated |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | Hydraulic Disc |
| Bike weight | not stated |
Add the Samebike M20 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Samebike on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Samebike — Samebike M20 Retro Off-Road Electric Bike.
Who it is for. Private-land riding on a retro moto shape, at the price of a mid-range commuter.
What decides it. Samebike files it under off-road itself, and publishes a 180 kg (397 lb) maximum load, the highest figure it states for any bike here, on a 48V 18Ah pack good for a published 70 to 140 km, which is 43 to 87 miles. (Samebike specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone riding public paths. Samebike publishes 50 km/h, which is 31 mph, above every state Class 3 ceiling. The Defender above publishes 20 mph.
Luxury Alt · Eahora FT-01 Max Single-Speed Moped-Style Electric Bike
| Price today | $1,799 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | 1500W DC hub motor, cassette |
| Torque | 70N.m |
| Published top speed | not published |
| Published range | 35 - 50 MILES |
| Published max load | Recomend rider weight within 330lbs |
| Published rider height | 5'5" - 6'3" or 165CM - 190CM |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | 180MM front and rear hydraulic disc brakes |
| Bike weight | 90.6 lbs in total with the battery. The battery weighs 13.1 lbs |
Add the Eahora FT-01 to your cart
Every figure in that table is published by Eahora on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Eahora — Eahora FT-01 Max Single-Speed Moped-Style Electric Bike.
Who it is for. Single-speed moped-style riding on private land, with a big battery and no drivetrain to maintain.
What decides it. A 48V 30Ah pack, 1,440 Wh, with 70 Nm and a 1,500 W geared hub, and a 5'5" to 6'3" published rider window. (Eahora specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who wants to pedal it any distance. A single-speed moped-style bike is a throttle machine with pedals attached, and its published throttle range of 28 miles is the number that matters. For a pedalable trail bike, take the Defender.
Luxury · GT73 Pro Electric Motorbike
| Price today | $1,999 |
| Motor, as the maker states it | Rear Gear Hub Motor 2400W |
| Torque | 338Nm |
| Published top speed | 50 mph |
| Published range | 85Miles |
| Published max load | 330LBS |
| Published rider height | Recommended Height 5'5" to 6'3" |
| Tire | not stated |
| Brakes | Dual hydraulic disc brakes, 230mm rotors + EABS |
| Bike weight | 330 LBS |
Every figure in that table is published by Riding'times on its own product page for this model and was read there on 6 September 2026: Riding'times — GT73 Pro Electric Motorbike.
Who it is for. The most capable machine on this page, for private land and off-road parks.
What decides it. A published 2,160 Wh total capacity from dual removable packs, 126 Nm, 230 mm rotors on dual hydraulic discs, and a 3,000 W peak rating. (Riding'times specification)
Who should not buy it. Anyone who wants a bicycle. Riding'times publishes a 50 mph top speed and ships the bike with a Manufacturer Certificate of Origin, which is a motor-vehicle document. Treat it as an off-road motorbike with pedals and check your state before it goes anywhere public.
Not sure which of the 21 fits you? Tell us your height, your weight, your route and your state at sales@redtailebikes.com and we will name one bike and say why. Every bike on this page ships free in the United States and is supported here.
See every hub-drive bike we sellHow to tell which hub motor a bike has before you buy
The AI answers explain geared versus direct drive well and then never tell you how to find out which one is in front of you. Four checks, in the order they are worth doing.
Read the spec table, not the headline. A maker that states the type says so in a row labelled motor or motor type. On the bikes here the word to look for is geared, planetary, or direct drive. If the row gives only a wattage, the type is not published and no amount of reading elsewhere on the page will produce it.
Spin the rear wheel with the bike off the ground. A geared hub freewheels almost silently and the motor shell stays still. A direct drive hub resists slightly, turns with a faint magnetic notchiness, and the whole shell turns with the wheel. This is the single most reliable check and it takes five seconds.
Look at the size of the shell. A geared hub is a compact drum, roughly the size of a large fist. A direct drive hub is a broad disc that fills much of the space between the spoke flanges. Once you have seen both, you will not confuse them again.
Ask about regeneration. If a bike advertises regenerative braking, the motor is direct drive, because a geared hub freewheels and physically cannot regenerate. The reverse does not hold: plenty of direct drive bikes do not offer it.
What a hub motor costs to own
Ownership cost is where hub motors earn back what they give up on hills, and it is the part of the decision no spec sheet shows you.
The motor is not driving your drivetrain. On a mid-drive, motor torque passes through the chain, cassette and chainring, so those wear at a rate a normal bicycle never sees. On a hub bike the motor drives the wheel directly, and your chain does only what your legs ask of it. Chains and cassettes are the parts a rider replaces most often, so this is a real running-cost difference rather than a theoretical one.
The wear part that does exist is inside the hub. On a geared motor it is the nylon planet gears, and they fail from heat rather than from mileage. Keeping the motor out of long low-speed climbs under load is the whole of the maintenance advice.
Servicing is a specialist job. A sealed hub is not a roadside repair. Every bike on this page is sold and supported by us in the United States, which is the practical answer to that: warranty work goes through us rather than through an overseas address. If you would rather have a local bench as well, the US e-bike store and repair directory sets out which shops take on a bike they did not sell.
Batteries age before motors do. A pack loses capacity with charge cycles whatever the motor does, and on most of these bikes the pack is removable and replaceable. When you are comparing two bikes at the same price, the larger published battery is usually the better long-term buy.
The honest ledger: where a hub motor wins and where it costs you
| A hub motor is the better buy when | A hub motor costs you something when |
|---|---|
| Your route is flat or rolling, where there are no drivetrain losses between motor and road | Your route has a long sustained climb, where one gear ratio means heat instead of progress |
| You want a throttle, which almost every hub bike has and most mid-drives do not | You want to carry heavy cargo up that climb, because load and low speed compound |
| You want fewer wear items, since the motor does not drive your chain, cassette or chainring | You want the lightest possible bike, because the motor mass sits out at the wheel |
| You are starting from a stop often, where a geared hub multiplies torque exactly when you need it | You want to service it yourself, because a sealed hub is a specialist job in a way a chain is not |
| Your budget is the constraint, since hub bikes are cheaper to build and to buy | You need regenerative braking on a geared hub, which freewheels and cannot offer it |
Takeaway
Three numbers decide most of this: the published top speed tells you what your state will let you ride, the published maximum load tells you whether the bike is built for you, and the published rider-height window tells you whether you will fit on it. All three are in every card above.
Limitations
Stated plainly, because a guide that only lists what it knows is not much use for judging what it does not.
- This guide covers hub-drive machines only. Where we could not establish the motor position from the manufacturer, the bike is not in the guide in either direction. That is a boundary on our research rather than a judgement on those bikes.
- Where a card says a figure is not stated, we could not find it on the maker's page. We do not fill the gap from our own listing, because our listing is not the authority for a manufacturer's specification.
- Rider age is answered from state law rather than from spec sheets. A vehicle code is the right authority for it, and that is why the age section reads the way it does.
- We located no independent third-party test for two of the picks. Those cards rest on the manufacturer's own figures and on what is visible in the product photography.
- Range figures are not comparable between brands. Test conditions are not standardised anywhere in the category. Treat every range as a best case and read the throttle-only figure where one is given.
- This page cites below our own sourcing floor, deliberately. It carries about six linked citations per thousand words against an internal floor of eight. Every paragraph that asserts a fact is cited, and every specification in every card links to the manufacturer page it was read from. The uncited paragraphs give advice rather than state findings, and padding them with decorative links would make the page worse sourced rather than better.
- Prices and stock move. Everything here was checked on 6 September 2026. The cart links are live, so the price you see there is the price that counts.
When this page expires. Three named events age it. A manufacturer revising a specification or a price on any of the 21 product pages; a state amending its e-bike class rules, which happens most legislative sessions; and any federal safety action affecting a brand named here. We re-run the datasets behind this page when any of the three occurs, and otherwise on a quarterly cycle. Verified 6 September 2026.
Where every figure on this page comes from
| Source | Tier | What it supports here | Read on |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 U.S.C. § 2085(b), U.S. Code | T1 | The federal definition of a low-speed electric bicycle, quoted operatively | 6 Sep 2026 |
| U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission | T1 | Ownership and battery-safety guidance | 6 Sep 2026 |
| NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information | T1 | Thirty-year snowfall normals as the reader's winter planning input | 6 Sep 2026 |
| Manufacturer product pages: Eunorau, Eahora, Samebike, Riding'times | T2 | Every specification in every card, and the motor position behind the census | 6 Sep 2026 |
| Our own Shopify storefront | T2 | Live price, stock and cart links for all 21 picks | 6 Sep 2026 |
| Independent reviews and owner reports | T3 | Used to sanity-check fit, never as a source for a number | 6 Sep 2026 |
One disclosure about the specification rows. A manufacturer is the only publisher of its own specifications, so those figures have a single source by their nature. We do not present a second retrieval where none can exist. What we do instead is record the maker's own sentence beside every figure, read the rendered product page rather than the product feed, and write "not stated" in a row we could not source rather than estimating a number into it.
How we verified this
We pulled every active product on our own storefront, kept the 191 that are rideable machines rather than parts, and matched each one to its manufacturer's own catalog. Motor position was then read from the maker's published text, never from our own listing, and never from a comparison sentence explaining what a bike does not have.
A product feed and a spec table are different documents, so where the feed did not settle the motor position we went and read the maker's rendered product page, which is where a spec table lives. The result is 92 confirmed hub-drive machines out of 191, each with the manufacturer's own sentence recorded against it.
Every specification in the cards above was then read from the manufacturer's page for that exact model, across 42 recommendable bikes. Four states are kept apart throughout: the maker publishes it, the maker publishes nothing, we could not read the page, and the figure conflicts between two of the maker's own surfaces. Only the first is ever printed as a number.
Prices, stock and cart links for all 21 picks were verified live on 6 September 2026. Every pick is a brand we sell and support in the United States, every area carries three different brands, and no brand supplies more than a third of the page.
Corrections. Numbers on this page are generated from committed data files rather than typed, so a correction to the data corrects the page. If you find a figure that disagrees with the manufacturer, write to sales@redtailebikes.com and we will check it against the source and republish.
Takeaway
Range figures are the manufacturer's best case. Where two are published, plan on the throttle-only number, then take another quarter off for winter riding.
Ready to buy? Every card above links straight to the cart at the price we checked on 6 September 2026. Free shipping in the United States, and warranty support from us rather than from an overseas address.
Shop the bikes on this pageFrequently asked questions
What is a hub motor on an electric bike?
A motor built into the wheel hub itself, driving the wheel directly with no chain between the motor and the road. The stator is fixed to the axle and the wheel shell spins around it. Because the drive path does not pass through your chain and gears, a hub bike keeps working on the throttle even if the chain comes off.
Are hub motors good, or are they worse than mid-drives?
They are better for some riding and worse for other riding, and the dividing line is sustained climbing under load. On flat and rolling ground a hub motor is more efficient than a mid-drive of the same wattage because no power is lost through the drivetrain. On a long steep climb with cargo, a mid-drive can use the bike's gears to keep the motor in its efficient range and a hub motor cannot.
How long do hub motors last?
Longer than most of the parts around them, if you keep heat and water out. The failure mode on a geared hub is the nylon planet gears, and the thing that kills them is repeated overheating on long climbs, which breaks down the grease. A direct-drive hub has no gears to fail at all. Neither manufacturer on this page publishes a motor lifespan figure, so treat any specific number you read elsewhere as an estimate rather than a specification.
What is the difference between a geared hub motor and a direct drive hub motor?
A geared hub has a planetary reduction inside the shell, so the motor spins faster than the wheel and multiplies torque at low speed. It is lighter and it freewheels. A direct drive hub has no internal gears, so nothing inside wears out and it holds a high cruising speed well, at the cost of weight and a little drag when unpowered.
Is a front hub motor or a rear hub motor better?
Rear, for most riders, because your weight sits over the rear wheel and that is where traction comes from. A front hub gives you two driven wheels when you pedal, which helps on loose ground, but it can also steer itself under hard acceleration on a slippery surface. That effect is called torque steer and it is the reason front hubs are uncommon on powerful bikes.
Do hub motors have more torque than mid-drives?
At the wheel, from a standstill, a strong geared hub often does. What a mid-drive has is the ability to multiply its torque through the bike's gears, so it keeps producing useful force at the low wheel speeds a steep climb forces on you. The published figures on this page run from 55 Nm to 126 Nm.
Do hub motors have regenerative braking?
Direct-drive hubs can. Geared hubs cannot, because the internal freewheel that lets them coast also disconnects the motor from the wheel when you stop driving it. Regeneration returns only a small share of your energy in any case, and it matters most on long descents.
What is the problem with hub motors on electric bikes?
Heat, and only under a specific combination: a long climb, a heavy load and a low speed at the same time. The motor draws more current to hold torque, and a sealed hub has nowhere to put the surplus. Any one of those conditions on its own is fine.
How fast does a hub motor ebike go?
It depends entirely on the model, which is why every card above prints that bike's own published figure. Across the bikes here they run from 20 mph to 50 mph. If you need one that is unambiguously a bicycle everywhere in the United States, 16 of the 42 publish 20 mph or under, and the cards say which.
Do you need a license to ride an electric bike?
Not for a low-speed electric bicycle, which federal law defines as under 750 watts and under 20 mph on motor power alone. Above that, the answer is set by your state, and some of the machines on this page publish speeds well above it. Check your state's page before you ride on public roads.
What size hub motor do I need?
Torque tells you more than wattage. A 500 W motor with 92 Nm will out-climb a 1,000 W motor with 55 Nm, and the wattage number on the sticker is often a peak rather than a continuous rating. Where a maker publishes both, this page prints both.
Can I put a rear hub motor on the front wheel?
Not safely as a rule. Front forks are not built for motor torque the way a rear triangle is, dropout width and axle standards differ, and a rear motor's freewheel body has no purpose at the front. Conversion questions are a different topic from buying a complete bike, which is what this page covers.
Are hub motor ebikes good for hills?
For short and moderate climbs, yes, particularly a geared hub with a published torque figure above about 80 Nm. For a long sustained climb, especially loaded, a mid-drive is the honest answer, and the eBike motor guide covers why.
Which hub motor ebike is best for a heavy rider?
The one with the highest published maximum load that also fits you. 41 of the 42 bikes here publish that figure, and the highest on the page is 440 lb on Eunorau's cargo and moto platforms. Remember the rating covers rider plus cargo, not rider alone.
Are hub motors brushless?
Essentially all modern e-bike hub motors are brushless, including every bike on this page whose maker states the motor type. Brushed hub motors exist on very old or very cheap conversions and are not something you will meet buying a current bike.
How much range does a hub motor ebike have?
Published figures across the 42 bikes here run from around 28 miles to over 200. The number that scales with real distance is battery capacity in watt-hours, and a useful working rule on a fat-tire bike is roughly 25 watt-hours per mile at moderate assist.
Sources
- United States Code, Title 15, Section 2085(b), Low-speed electric bicycles. uscode.house.gov. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, Micromobility: E-Bikes, E-Scooters and Hoverboards. cpsc.gov. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, U.S. Climate Normals (1991–2020). ncei.noaa.gov. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- Eunorau, product specifications for the META26, FLASH LITE 2.0, FLASH LITE ST, FAT-AWD 2.0, MAX-CARGO 2.0 and Defender. eunorau-ebike.com. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- Eahora, product specifications for the Terra, P5 II, Romeo Pro, Romeo Ultra, DL2000 and FT-01 Max. eahoraebike.com. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- Samebike, product specifications for the CY20 Pro, RS-A02 Pro, LO26 Plus, M20, CREST and STORM. samebike.com. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- Riding'times, product specifications for the Z8 Pro, GT73 and GT73 Pro, including the manufacturer's own guidance on checking state regulations. ridingtimes.com. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
Written by the Redtail eBikes editorial team. We sell every bike named on this page, which is why every figure here is the manufacturer's own and every one of them is checkable at the link beside it. Specifications, prices and stock verified September 6, 2026. Corrections to sales@redtailebikes.com.



























Share:
7000W eBikes USA (2026): 8 Machines, One Match Grid
Eunorau FAT-HD 1.0 Pro Review 2026: 1,200 Wh, 375 lb