500 W hub · 55 N·m · torque sensor · 720 Wh (1,536 Wh with the second pack) · 20 MPH · 68.4 lb · 286 lb payload · $1,699 · verified September 8, 2026
Quick Answer — This Eunorau META26 review measures the META26 1.0, a $1,699 city commuter with a 500 W hub motor, a torque sensor and a 20 MPH cap. At 500 watts and 20 MPH it fits the federal definition of an electric bicycle, which most of what we sell does not. Buy it to ride in a bike lane, legally, on a bike that reads your effort.
The torque sensor is the reason to pick it over a cheaper hub bike, and the 100-mile range figure needs a second battery you have to buy.
- How we verified this review
- The part that matters: this one is legally a bicycle
- Who this bike is actually for
- The torque sensor, and what it changes
- 720 watt-hours, and what 100 miles would take
- Where Eunorau's two spec sheets disagree
- Charging, and the number Eunorau does not publish
- 68.4 pounds, and what that buys you
- Ordering, shipping and support
- Which META: 20, 24, 26 or 275
- The Mercer fit test
- Has it been recalled?
- Is it UL certified?
- Green flags / Red flags
- Buy it if / Buy something else if
- Before you buy: the checklist
- Frequently asked questions
- Limitations of this review
- The bottom line

A 500-watt commuter with a torque sensor. The wattage is the number that decides where you may ride it.
How we verified this Eunorau META26 review
Every figure here is Eunorau's published specification, read on September 8, 2026 and recomputed wherever the arithmetic could be checked. Two independent surfaces were retrieved and diffed — the rendered product page and the storefront's own product feed — because this manufacturer's two surfaces have disagreed on other models. They disagree here too, on two rows, and that section says which.
Prices, colorways and stock come from our own store through the Shopify Admin API on the same date. The federal definition is quoted from the statute. The recall and safety-warning screens ran against the Consumer Product Safety Commission's own data and were control-tested against a brand with two known warnings before their silence on Eunorau was believed. The range and payload arithmetic is ours, and the script that produces it is committed alongside this page.
This bike is already reviewed elsewhere, and we say so. Electrek has covered the META family and Off-Road Ebike Source has a dedicated META26 1.0 review. No claim to being first or only is made anywhere on this page; what this one adds is the arithmetic, the two-surface diff and the legal test.
One naming point, because the search results mix them up. This review is of the META26 1.0, the bike we stock at $1,699. Eunorau also builds a META26 X2.0, which is a different machine and is not what this page measures.
Written by the Redtail editorial team. Corrections: support@redtailebikes.com.
The part that matters: this one is legally a bicycle
Most of what we sell is not an electric bicycle in the federal sense. This one is, and that is the single best reason to buy it.

Two hundred and fifty watts of headroom is the whole reason this bike can use a bike lane.
15 U.S.C. § 2085(b) defines a low-speed electric bicycle as:
a two- or three-wheeled vehicle with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of less than 750 watts (1 h.p.), whose maximum speed on a paved level surface, when powered solely by such a motor while ridden by an operator who weighs 170 pounds, is less than 20 mph.
16 CFR § 1512.2(a)(2) carries the same wording into the Consumer Product Safety Commission's bicycle rules.
The META26's motor is 500 watts, which is 250 W of federal headroom under the ceiling the statute sets. Compare that with the moped-style machines on the same shelf: our Eahora Romeo Pro publishes 1,200 W, which is 1.6 times the same limit and settles that bike's legal question before speed is discussed.
On the speed limb, read the wording carefully rather than the headline. Eunorau publishes a maximum of 20 MPH, and the federal text says less than 20 mph on motor power alone. A bike advertised at exactly 20 sits on the line rather than comfortably under it, and the honest thing to say is that the wattage limb is met with room to spare while the speed limb is met at the boundary.
In practice, the state-level three-class system is what a police officer applies, and there the answer is cleaner. This bike has a thumb throttle and a 20 MPH cap, which is the definition of a Class 2 e-bike in the states that have adopted the model legislation — throttle assistance up to 20 mph. Class 2 is the least restricted category in most of the country: bike lanes and multi-use paths are generally open to it where Class 3 is not.
What that means for you. This is a bike you can buy without first solving a legal problem. Check your own state — our state e-bike law pages cover 23 of them from the statutes — but the starting position here is the permissive one, and that is rare on our shelf.
Who this bike is actually for
Most e-bike reviews describe a machine. This one describes a situation, because the META26's specification is unusually well matched to one and unusually badly matched to others.

Step-through frame, rack and fenders included. This is a bike built to be used rather than admired.
It is for the person who wants to stop driving short trips. Two to fifteen miles each way is precisely what this specification is built around. Two to fifteen miles each way, on roads and bike lanes, in ordinary clothes, arriving without needing a shower. A 500 W motor and a torque sensor cover that ride precisely: enough assistance to flatten a hill and hold 20 mph, delivered in proportion to what your legs are doing, on a bike light enough to bring inside at the other end.
It is for the rider who wants to be legal without thinking about it. That sounds like a small thing until you have read the law section. Most machines at this price on this shelf publish 1,000 W or more and put the burden of "where may I ride this" on the buyer. This one does not.
It is for someone who will actually pedal. The torque sensor is the specification that rewards it. The torque sensor is wasted on a rider who wants throttle-only transport, and if that is the plan there are cheaper cadence-sensor bikes that will do it just as well.
It is not for distance without planning. One 720 Wh pack is about 47 miles ridden gently. One battery is about 47 miles ridden gently. Fine for a week of commuting between charges; not a bike to point at a 70-mile day without the second pack.
It is not for hills that need real torque. 55 N·m is a city figure. 55 N·m is a city figure. A steep, loaded, repeated climb wants more, and on our shelf that means moving to a machine with a legal question attached.
And it is not for a rider over 6'3" or close to 286 lb. Both are published limits and the Mercer test below works through where they bite.
All five colorways in stock today, 25 units each. Free US shipping, Shop Pay instalments at checkout, and we handle any warranty claim ourselves instead of handing you a support address.
Add the META26 — $1,699The torque sensor, and what it changes
Eunorau publishes a torque sensor on this bike, and at $1,699 that is the specification worth paying for.
The difference is what the bike is measuring. A cadence sensor asks one question: are the pedals turning? When the answer is yes it delivers a preset amount of power. A torque sensor measures how hard you are pushing and scales the motor to match. The first feels like a switch. The second feels like legs.
Practically, three things follow:
- Power arrives in proportion to effort, so pulling away from a light is smooth instead of a lurch, and easing off slows the motor with you rather than after you.
- Range improves at the same speed, because the motor stops delivering full assistance during the parts of your ride that do not need it.
- The bike rewards pedalling, which matters more on a 500 W machine than on a 1,200 W one — here you and the motor are genuine partners rather than the motor doing everything.
Eunorau pairs it with 55 N·m of maximum torque and a 48 V 20 A controller. Fifty-five newton-meters is a moderate figure — it is not going to launch you up a 20% grade the way a 120 N·m moped motor does — and that is the correct trade for a bike built to be legal, light and efficient.
If you have only ridden cadence-sensor e-bikes, this is the upgrade you can feel. It is also the one most spec sheets at this price do not offer.
720 watt-hours, and what 100 miles would take
The battery is 48 V 15 Ah, which is 720 watt-hours — that arithmetic is exact and the maker's own figures confirm it.

The advertised 100 miles belongs to the bottom two bars. The bike arrives with the top one.
Eunorau advertises 100 miles, and the fine print matters: that figure is for the primary battery plus an optional second battery you buy separately. On the rendered product page the second pack is 17 Ah, which makes the total 1,536 Wh.
| What you actually have | Watt-hours | Wh/mile the 100-mile claim implies |
|---|---|---|
| Primary battery only | 720 Wh | — |
| Primary + optional 17 Ah second pack | 1,536 Wh | 15.36 Wh/mi |
| Primary + optional 15 Ah second pack | 1,440 Wh | 14.40 Wh/mi |
15.36 watt-hours per mile is a demanding number, and it tells you exactly what the 100-mile ride looks like. It means low assist, level ground, a light rider, high tire pressure and real pedalling — which a torque-sensor bike genuinely rewards, but which is not how most people ride most days.
Apply the same efficiency to the battery that actually ships with the bike and the answer is 46.9 miles on the 720 Wh pack. That is the honest planning figure for a gentle ride on one battery. Ride harder, use the throttle, or carry a load, and it comes down from there.
The buying decision this creates is simple. If your commute is under about 20 miles each way, one battery is enough and the 100-mile headline is irrelevant to you. If it is not, budget for the second pack at the same time as the bike rather than discovering the gap later.
The one number to write down 720 Wh. Volts times amp-hours — 48 × 15 — and it is what actually ships with the bike. The 100-mile headline belongs to a two-battery configuration you buy separately. One pack, ridden gently, is about 47 miles.
Where Eunorau's two spec sheets disagree
We retrieved both of Eunorau's own surfaces for this bike on the same day — the product page and its product feed — and compared them row by row. Eleven load-bearing rows agree. Two do not.
| Row | Product feed | Rendered product page |
|---|---|---|
| Battery cells | SAMSUNG Lithium-ion | LG Lithium-ion |
| Optional second battery | 15 Ah | 15 Ah / 17 Ah |
| Basis of the 100-mile claim | 15 Ah + 15 Ah second | 15 Ah + 17 Ah second |
Neither is a small row. Cell chemistry and provenance are what UL 2271 exists to evaluate. Cell supplier is a real buying consideration for anyone who cares what is in the pack, and the second-battery size changes the arithmetic behind the headline range figure: 1,440 Wh against 1,536 Wh.
What we do about it, rather than guess. We are not going to tell you which cell brand is in the battery on the pallet, because the manufacturer publishes two answers and we have not opened one. If the cell supplier matters to your decision, ask us and we will get it confirmed in writing from Eunorau before you pay. That takes a day and costs you nothing.
And treat the range figure as the lower of the two. Where two published numbers disagree, planning around the smaller one has never made anybody unhappy.
68.4 pounds, and what that buys you
68.4 lb with the battery in. On a shelf where moped-style machines run 124 to 175 lb, this is the bike you can actually pick up.

Steel Blue. At 68.4 lb this is the one on our shelf you can carry.
Three consequences worth more than the spec row suggests:
- It goes on a normal hitch rack, and a reasonably fit adult can lift it onto one without a ramp or a second person.
- A flat tire is not a catastrophe. You can get this bike into a car, or walk it, without the exercise becoming the story of your day.
- It climbs stairs to an apartment, awkwardly but possibly, which decides whether a lot of city riders can own an e-bike at all.
The payload rating is 286 lb total. The bike is 23.9% of its own rating, leaving 217.6 lb for rider and cargo if that figure is gross. Eunorau does not state whether it counts the bike, so treat 217.6 lb as the working number and leave margin.
Fit is published as 5'4" to 6'3" on an 18-inch frame, with a full geometry table — 457 mm seat tube, 393 mm reach, 1,158 mm wheelbase. Tires are Innova 26" × 3.0", which is the sensible middle: enough volume to take the sting out of bad pavement without the rolling resistance of a 4-inch fat tire.
Braking is hydraulic disc on 180 mm rotors with motor cutoff levers — proportionate to a 68 lb bike at 20 mph, where the 203 mm four-piston setups on the moped bikes are answering a much heavier, faster problem. For scale, 16 CFR § 1512.5(b)(1) holds a bicycle to a 15-foot stop at the test speed its own cross-reference sets.
Charging, and the number Eunorau does not publish
Eunorau ships a US-standard 2.0 A smart charger and publishes a 5 to 7 hour charge time for the 720 Wh pack.
We could not check that claim the way we checked the range, and the reason is worth stating. Charge time is watt-hours divided by charger output in watts, and watts need volts as well as amps. Eunorau publishes the amperage and not the voltage. A 48 V pack is normally filled by a charger in the 54.6 V region, which would put this one near 109 W and the charge near 6.6 hours — comfortably inside the published window — but that rests on an assumption about a figure the maker did not print, so it is offered as context and not as a verified number.
What is checkable is the shape of the problem. 720 Wh is roughly a quarter of what the moped-style machines on this shelf carry, which is why this bike charges overnight without ceremony and they do not. If you add the optional second pack you roughly double both the range and the charging.
Practical version: plug it in when you get home, ride in the morning, and you will never think about it again. Our free US shipping means the bike arrives ready to do that.
Ordering, shipping and support
Free shipping to anywhere in the United States, from our own US inventory rather than from overseas. All five colorways — Deep Crimson, Steel Blue, Alpine White, Pastel Pink and Dark Charcoal — are in stock as we publish, 25 units each.

Alpine White.

Pastel Pink — the colorway buyers ask after most and the one that sells out first.

Dark Charcoal. All five are in stock as we publish, 25 units each.
Our support is in the United States, and so is the warranty administration. If a bike arrives damaged, we file the freight claim — that is our job, not a form we hand you. If something fails inside the warranty period you deal with us in your own timezone, not with a factory contact on the other side of the world.
Shop Pay instalments are live at checkout, so $1,699 can be split rather than paid at once. The cart link takes you straight there.
One thing worth asking us before you order, if it matters to you: the battery cell brand, where Eunorau's own two surfaces disagree. We will get it confirmed in writing rather than guess on your behalf.
Which META: 20, 24, 26 or 275
Eunorau builds the META as a family, and the search results treat it as one — most people arrive looking for "the Eunorau META" rather than a model number. Four of them sit on our shelf and the difference is mostly wheel size and what you intend to do.

The studio shot that runs on our own listing for this bike.
| Model | Wheel | Price | The case for it |
|---|---|---|---|
| META20 | 20" | $1,699 | The folder — 63.4 lb, the family's lowest fit floor at 5'1", reviewed |
| META24 · spec | 24" | $1,699 | The lightest of the four at 61.7 lb, and the lowest standover — reviewed |
| META26 1.0 | 26" | $1,699 | The default. Standard wheel size, best rolling efficiency, the most tire choice later |
| META275 2.0 | 27.5" | $1,699 | The largest wheel and the narrowest fit corridor in the family — reviewed |
| META275 1.0 | 27.5" | $1,399 | The same wheel in a step-over frame, at 65 N·m and nine speeds — reviewed |
All four are the same price, which makes wheel size the whole decision. That is unusual and it is helpful: you are not paying more for the size that fits you.
Pick the 26 unless you have a specific reason not to. It is the standard wheel size in cycling, which means tire and tube choice later is widest, and it rolls more efficiently than a 24 or a 20 without the toe-overlap and standover that a 27.5 can bring for shorter riders. Choose the 24 if you are near the bottom of the height range, the 275 if you are near the top, and the 20 only if folding is a requirement.
The Mercer fit test
Seven riders, one bike. Verdicts read Eunorau's published numbers and the age law only — the cast are archetypes we use across every review, not testers.
| Rider | Does the META26 fit? |
|---|---|
| Jack Mercer, 48, 6'1", 205 lb | Yes. Comfortably inside 5'4"–6'3", and inside the payload with gear. This is the bike he rides to work rather than the one he rides on his own land. |
| Maya Torres, 34, 5'5", 140 lb | Yes, and this is her bike. 5'5" clears the published minimum with room, the 68.4 lb weight is manageable, and a Class 2 machine is the one that can legally use the bike lane she commutes in. |
| Frank Kowalski, 67, 5'10", 230 lb | Yes. Inside both limits. The torque sensor suits him better than a cadence bike: assistance in proportion to effort is easier on knees than an on-off surge. |
| Priya Raman, 29, 5'7", 130 lb | Yes. The city commute this bike was designed for, on the class of machine that commute allows. |
| Dev Mercer, 16 | Check your state, and the answer is often yes. Class 2 e-bikes are commonly permitted at 16 with no license, unlike the moped-style machines we sell. The specific age rule is your state's, and our law pages cover 23 of them. |
| Ivy Mercer, 11 | No. Below the published 5'4" minimum, and most states set a minimum age for throttle-equipped e-bikes above 11. |
| Ray Ellis, 58, 6'4", 260 lb | No, on two counts. 6'4" is an inch over the published maximum, and 260 lb leaves under 26 lb of the 286 lb rating for everything else. The META275 is the larger-wheeled option to look at instead. |
Do this before you order Measure yourself against the published 5'4"–6'3", then add up your load against 286 lb and assume the bike's own 68.4 lb counts toward it. Both limits are published, neither is soft, and the full geometry table is on the maker's page so you can check the fit properly.
If your ground is loose rather than paved, the Eunorau FAT-AWD 3.0 or the step-over FAT-AWD 2.0 put a motor at each end — 375 lb of payload and a three-position drive switch, at the cost of the road legality this bike keeps.
Has it been recalled?
No. Screened September 8, 2026 against the Consumer Product Safety Commission's own data:
- Federal recalls: four validated query routes against the CPSC database returned no recall naming Eunorau as a whole word, and the 19 federal electric-bicycle recalls on file were read individually.
- Product safety warnings: Eunorau appears in 0 of the 359 warnings in CPSC's complete published warning list.
The instrument was control-tested before its silence was trusted. Run against a brand carrying two known open CPSC warnings, the same word-boundary search over the same file returns both. One CPSC query field, ManufacturerName, was probed with a real term and a nonsense term, returned the identical full database for both, and was discarded as unusable rather than counted as a clean route.
This is a screened record on the date shown. Check CPSC yourself before buying anything from anyone.
Is it UL certified?
Eunorau publishes a testing announcement, and it is more specific than most.
In its own words, dated March 5, 2023: "all of our ebikes have passed the UL 2849 testing", and "Our ebike batteries have also passed the UL 2271 tests, which required an evaluation of all of the battery components; from wiring, the case materials, battery cells and the overall system."
UL 2849 covers the complete electrical system — drive train, battery and charger as a combination — and UL 2271 covers the battery pack alone. Those are the two standards New York City wrote into law in 2023, which bars the sale of e-bikes and batteries not certified to them.
Read "tested" precisely. A testing announcement covering a whole range is a stronger statement than a compliance assertion, and weaker than a per-model certificate with a file number you can look up. If your building, your insurer or a city ordinance requires a specific certificate for this model, ask us and we will request it from Eunorau before you pay.
Charge any pack on a hard surface, away from your exit route, on the charger it shipped with. CPSC's own guidance is worth five minutes.
What the arithmetic settles 500 watts leaves 250 watts of headroom under the federal ceiling, which is why this bike can use a bike lane. The 100-mile claim needs 15.36 watt-hours per mile. And the same efficiency on the battery that ships with it comes to 46.9 miles.
Between 5'4" and 6'3", and want it checked before you pay? Send us your height and inseam and we will confirm them against Eunorau's published geometry table, and get the battery cell brand confirmed at the same time. Free US shipping, and every warranty claim handled by us.
Check the fit — $1,699Green flags / Red flags
Green flags
- It is legally an electric bicycle — 500 W with 250 W of federal headroom, and a 20 MPH Class 2 profile that bike lanes generally allow.
- A torque sensor at $1,699, which is the specification most bikes at this price leave out.
- 68.4 lb, light enough to lift onto a rack, get into a car, or carry up a flight of stairs.
- Zero federal recalls and zero CPSC safety warnings, on a control-tested screen.
- A published UL 2849 and UL 2271 testing announcement covering the whole range, in the maker's own words.
- Five colorways, all five in stock with 125 units as we publish.
- Hydraulic discs with motor cutoff and a full published geometry table — you can check the fit before you buy.
Red flags — meaning who this bike is wrong for
- Wrong if you needed 100 miles. That figure requires a second battery you buy separately and 15.36 Wh per mile. One pack, ridden gently, is about 47 miles.
- Wrong if you want to keep up with traffic. 20 MPH is the cap, by design. If you want more, the Eahora Romeo Pro has it — and it also has the legal question this bike does not.
- Wrong if you are over 6'3" or near the 286 lb payload. Both limits are published and neither is soft.
- Wrong if you need a settled answer on the cell brand today — the maker publishes two, and we would rather confirm it than guess.
- Wrong if 55 N·m will not climb your hill. It is a moderate torque figure suited to city grades.
Buy it if / Buy something else if
Buy it if you want a commuter you can legally ride in a bike lane, you value a motor that responds to your effort rather than to a switch, and you can live with 20 MPH and a realistic 47 miles on the battery that comes with it. On those terms this is the most sensible bike we sell under $2,000, and the torque sensor is what separates it from every cadence-sensor bike at the same price.
Buy something else if any of that fails. If you need more speed and power and have somewhere legal for it, read the Eahora Romeo Pro. If you need three wheels for stability, the Eunorau ONE-TRIKE 2.0 is 500 W and 20 MPH like this one, and equally inside the definition. If the fit is the problem, the META24 or META275 are the same bike in a different wheel size at the same price.
Add the META26 to your cart — $1,699, free US shipping
Before you buy: the checklist
- Measure your height against 5'4"–6'3". The geometry table is published; use it.
- Add up your load against 286 lb, and assume the bike counts toward it.
- Decide about the second battery now. One pack is about 47 miles ridden gently; the 100-mile figure needs two.
- Ask us about the cell brand if it matters to you — the maker publishes two answers.
- Check your state's Class 2 rules, especially minimum age if the rider is a teenager.
- Pick your colorway — all five are in stock today, which will not stay true.
Frequently asked questions
How fast does the Eunorau META26 go?
Twenty miles per hour, which Eunorau publishes as its maximum speed. That is the Class 2 ceiling in the states that use the three-class system, and it is deliberate rather than a limitation of the motor.
Is the Eunorau META26 street legal?
On the wattage limb, comfortably — 500 W against a 750 W federal ceiling. On speed it sits at the 20 mph boundary rather than under it. In the states that use the three-class system its throttle and 20 MPH cap make it a Class 2 e-bike, the least restricted category. What riding on that throttle costs in range, and where a Class 2 is treated differently, is measured across 21 bikes in our pedal assist vs throttle comparison. Full working here.
How far does the META26 really go on a charge?
The battery it ships with is 720 Wh. Eunorau's 100-mile figure assumes a second battery bought separately and about 15.36 watt-hours per mile. Apply that same efficiency to one pack and you get 46.9 miles, which is the honest planning number for a gentle ride.
Does the Eunorau META26 have a torque sensor or a cadence sensor?
A torque sensor. It measures how hard you are pedalling and scales assistance to match, rather than switching on a preset level when the cranks turn. What that changes.
How much does the Eunorau META26 weigh?
68.4 lb with the battery installed — light enough to lift onto a hitch rack, and 23.9% of its own 286 lb payload rating.
What is the difference between the META20, META24, META26 and META275?
Wheel size, mostly, and all four are $1,699. The 20 folds, the 24 suits shorter riders, the 26 is the standard-wheel default and the 275 suits taller ones. Side by side.
Is the META26 the same as the META26 X2.0?
No. Eunorau builds both; this page measures the META26 1.0, which is the bike we stock at $1,699. Search results mix the two, so check the model number on any review you read.
What size battery does it use, and can I add a second one?
48 V 15 Ah, which is 720 Wh, with an optional second pack. Eunorau's product page offers that second pack in 15 Ah or 17 Ah; its product feed lists only 15 Ah.
What brand are the battery cells?
Eunorau publishes two different answers — its product feed says Samsung and its product page says LG. We have not opened a pack to settle it, so if the cell supplier matters to you, ask us and we will get it confirmed in writing before you pay.
What tires does it use?
Innova 26" × 3.0" — enough volume for bad pavement and light gravel, without the rolling resistance of a 4-inch fat tire.
Has the Eunorau META26 been recalled?
No. Zero federal recalls and zero appearances in CPSC's 359 published product safety warnings, screened September 8, 2026 on a control-tested instrument.
Are Eunorau batteries UL certified?
Eunorau publishes an announcement that all its e-bikes have passed UL 2849 testing and its batteries UL 2271 testing. That is a range-wide testing statement rather than a per-model certificate number. What the distinction means.
Is Eunorau a good brand?
That is a brand-level question with its own page: our Eunorau brand profile covers the company, the warranty and the range.
What brakes does it have?
Hydraulic disc brakes on 180 mm rotors, with motor cutoff switches in the levers — proportionate to a 68 lb bike capped at 20 mph.
Limitations of this review
- Every performance figure here is Eunorau's published specification, verified against both of its own surfaces and recomputed where the arithmetic allows. Our evidence is data and mathematics, and the figures are labelled as the manufacturer's throughout.
- Two published rows disagree between Eunorau's own surfaces — the battery cell brand and the size of the optional second pack. This page reports both and adopts neither.
- The charger's output voltage is not published, only its 2.0 A rating, so the 5–7 hour charge claim could not be independently derived the way the range figures could.
- The freewheel's tooth range is not published for this model, so top-gear road speed could not be computed. Eunorau publishes the 42T chainring and a 7-speed Shimano freewheel and stops there.
- The payload rating's basis is not stated. Eunorau gives 286 lb without saying whether the bike counts. This page treats it as gross and says so.
- State-by-state legality is not resolved here. The federal arithmetic and the Class 2 profile are; our state law pages cover 23 states.
- Price, colorways and stock were read on September 8, 2026 and all three move.
The bottom line
The Eunorau META26 1.0 is the most sensible bike we sell under $2,000, and the reason is the two specifications most buyers skip past. A 500-watt motor keeps it inside the federal definition of an electric bicycle with 250 watts to spare, and a torque sensor makes it ride like a bicycle rather than a scooter with pedals attached. At $1,699, in five colorways all in stock, that combination is genuinely hard to find.
Buy it understanding two things. The 100-mile headline belongs to a two-battery configuration you have to pay extra for; one pack, ridden gently, is about 47 miles. And 20 MPH is the ceiling by design — it is the price of being allowed in the bike lane, and on this bike it is a feature rather than a compromise.
If you have been riding a cadence-sensor e-bike and wondering why it never feels quite like cycling, this is the specification that fixes it.
Add the META26 to your cart — $1,699, free US shipping · Compare it with the moped-style Romeo Pro · See every review we have published
Source register
| Grade | Source | Used for |
|---|---|---|
| T1 | 15 U.S.C. § 2085 · 16 CFR § 1512.2 | The federal low-speed electric bicycle definition |
| T1 | CPSC product safety warning list · CPSC recalls | The safety screens |
| T1 | City of New York, Local Law 39 enforcement | Why UL 2849 / 2271 matter in law |
| T2 | Eunorau META26 1.0 product page | The published specification, surface one |
| T2 | Eunorau storefront product feed, same handle | The published specification, surface two |
| T2 | Eunorau UL testing announcement | The testing claim, quoted |
| T2 | UL 2849 · UL 2271 | What the standards cover |
| — | Redtail Shopify Admin API | Price, colorways, stock, September 8, 2026 |
Expiry conditions
- Eunorau reconciles or changes the two disagreeing rows — the cell brand and the second-battery size.
- A CPSC recall or warning names Eunorau. The screen was clean on September 8, 2026.
- Our price or stock moves. $1,699 and 125 units across five colorways were read that day.
- A state changes its Class 2 rules, particularly minimum age.
- Eunorau publishes a per-model UL certificate number, which would replace the range-wide testing announcement quoted here.
Primary sources
- United States Code. 15 U.S.C. § 2085(b), definition of "low-speed electric bicycle". Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/15/2085
- Code of Federal Regulations. 16 CFR § 1512.2(a)(2). Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/16/1512.2
- Eunorau. META26 1.0 Electric Commuter Bicycle — product page and specification table. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://eunorau-ebike.com/products/meta-26-1
- Eunorau. "We are UL 2849 tested and UL 2271 tested!", 5 March 2023. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://eunorau-ebike.com/blogs/news/we-are-ul-2849-tested-and-ul-2271-tested
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission. Download All Product Safety Warnings — complete 359-record listing, searched on a word boundary and control-tested. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/recall-data/product_safety_warning_listing.csv
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission. Recall database, queried with field-level positive and negative controls. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.cpsc.gov/Recalls
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission. Micromobility Information Center — battery and charging guidance. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.cpsc.gov/Safety-Education/Safety-Education-Centers/Micromobility-Information-Center
- UL Standards & Engagement. UL 2849, electrical systems for e-bikes. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL2849
- UL Standards & Engagement. UL 2271, batteries for light electric vehicles. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL2271
- City of New York. Local Law 39 of 2023 enforcement announcement, Department of Consumer and Worker Protection. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.nyc.gov/site/dca/news/041-24/mayor-adams-speaker-adams-new-enforcement-powers-prevent-sale-dangerous-
- Redtail eBikes. Eunorau META26 product listing — price, colorways and inventory, read through the Shopify Admin API. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://redtailebikes.com/products/eunorau-meta26
- Eunorau. META24 1.0 City Commuter Electric Bike — product page, cited for the family comparison. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://eunorau-ebike.com/products/meta-24-1
- Eunorau. META20 1.0 — product page, cited for the family comparison. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://eunorau-ebike.com/products/meta-20-1
- Eunorau. META275 2.0 — product page, cited for the family comparison. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://eunorau-ebike.com/products/meta275-2
- Code of Federal Regulations. 16 CFR § 1512.5(b)(1), bicycle braking performance. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/16/1512.5
- Electrek. "EUNORAU META 2024 electric bike review: Are 24″ wheels the sweet spot?", 5 August 2024. Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://electrek.co/2024/08/05/eunorau-meta-2024-electric-bike-review-are-24-wheels-the-sweet-spot/
- Off-Road Ebike Source. "Eunorau META26 1.0 Comprehensive Review". Retrieved 8 September 2026. https://offroadebikesource.com/blogs/reviews/eunorau-meta26-1-0-comprehensive-review-the-ultimate-torque-sensing-commuter





Share:
Eahora Romeo Pro Review 2026: 2,880 Wh for $1,899
Kansas eBike Laws (2026): 750 Watts Is the Line